About Me
Marriage & Family Counseling of Northern Michigan, LLC
Alisha Stapor, LMFT, LPC, NCC
About Me

I am a Northern Michigan local and grew up in small town Onaway. I always hoped to be lucky enough to be able return to my roots while getting to do what I love. 

                  

 

I started my education at North Central Michigan College and transferred to Western Michigan University to complete my Bachelors of Science. At the time of starting my graduate education (and I believe this to still be true), WMU held the only Master’s level program specifically for Marriage, Couple, and Family Counseling in all of Michigan. I completed my Master of Arts in 2012.

 

While living in Kalamazoo, I worked in a supervisor position at a crisis hotline center.  With this experience I have extensive training in crisis management, suicide prevention, as well as information and referral. As part of my counseling program, I facilitated groups, and worked with diverse populations for individual, family, and couple counseling services. After returning to Northern Michigan in early 2012 I conducted mental status and substance use screens for multiple counties in the surrounding area for the Northern Michigan Regional Entity (previously known as the Northern Affiliation) for just shy of 3 years.

 

While employed at the NMRE, it became apparent that many people (especially children and couples) were not able to obtain the mental health services they needed. In 2014 I opened Marriage and Family Counseling of Northern Michigan, LLC.  Indian River was chosen as it is central to many counties who have been underserved.

I am a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT) and Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) in the state of Michigan. I am also a Nationally Certified Counselor (NCC).  I am a member of the American Counseling Association and attend various trainings and seminars on topics related to counseling.


I live with my husband, our son, and our two English Springer Spaniels. In my free time I enjoy spending time with my family, painting, cooking, gardening, and being outdoors. 


HomeServicesFAQFees & InsuranceAbout MeContact